Search Committee Announces Slate of Candidates


With joy and deep gratitude, the Search Committee presents the slate of nominees for the 11th Bishop of Delaware:

The Right Reverend Laura J. Ahrens
Bishop Suffragan, The Episcopal Church in Connecticut

The Very Reverend Michael Battle
Herbert Thompson Professorial Chair of Church and Society; and Director of the Desmond Tutu Center, General Theological Seminary, New York

The Reverend Kevin S. Brown
Rector, The Episcopal Church of the Holy Comforter, Charlotte, North Carolina

The Reverend Patricia S. Downing
Rector, Trinity and Old Swedes Parish, Wilmington, Delaware

The Reverend Canon Scott A. Gunn
Executive Director, Forward Movement, Cincinnati, Ohio

A video and more detailed information on each of the nominees can be found here.

The slate is the result of an eight-month discernment process where, through prayer and dialogue, we worked to discern those candidates whose gifts and strengths best match our diocesan strengths, needs and direction. We were committed to the attributes expressed in our Diocesan Profile, which was based on input from over 600 surveys and 29 Town Halls throughout Delaware. This input provided critical information and context for our discernment. We believe these nominees understand “the Delaware way” as expressed in our profile and are excited to join us. Throughout our process, we have sought to extend welcome and hospitality to all who engaged in the search process. We extend heartfelt thanks to all the gifted priests across the U.S., Canada and Europe who offered themselves as candidates in our search.

A petition process for submitting additional names opens today and will close on May 13.  Complete information about the petition process and the petition form are available at …

This is an exciting time for our Diocese! Please pray that all of us will be inspired by the Holy Spirit to discern clearly whom God is calling to be our next Bishop and to work with her/him to joyfully continue the Jesus Movement in the Diocese of Delaware.

Yours in Christ,

The Search Committee:

Mr. Steve Boyden, co-chair
The Rev. Martha Kirkpatrick, co-chair
The Rev. Ken Athey
Ms. Joyce Bembry
Ms. Becky Cronin
Ms. Mary Nash Godden Wilson
Ms. Beth Maurer
The Ven. Pat Malcolm
Mr. Herb Quick
The Rev. Ketlen Solak
Dr. Sam Steward
The Rev. Chuck Weiss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *